Autscape 2009 AGM - Minutes

11.30am Friday 21st August 2009

1. Apologies for absence - none

The Chair, Larry Arnold, reminded the meeting that only members may participate. Larry also apologised for the lack of printed copies of the minutes of the 2008 AGM. Trish (committee member) read the 2008 minutes to the meeting.

2. Approval of the minutes of Autscape AGM 2008

Kalen (member) noted an error in the minutes which was corrected by the vice secretary (Yo). The amended minutes were approved (19 in favour, 0 against, 11 abstentions).

3. Annual report (Chair)

Larry explained the circumstances under which he became chair (as detailed in the annual report) and that, although he had stood in the election for chair last year on a particular platform, it had not been appropriate for him to pursue that agenda when replacing Ruth following her resignation as he felt that his original platform had not been endorsed by the AGM.

At the request of Adrian Whyatt (member), the annual report was read in full by the chair with some assistance from the vice secretary.

The annual report was approved by the membership (30 in favour, 0 against, 0 abstentions).

4. Financial Report and interim accounts (Treasurer)

The treasurer (Robin May) presented an oral financial report to the meeting. One member suggested that final accounts could be approved by an EGM and also mentioned the availability of free financial training from voluntary organisations. Larry explained that the meeting was being asked to approve interim accounts only at this stage. Yo (speaking as the incoming secretary) made the meeting aware that improving Autscape's accounting procedures was intended to be a high priority for the new committee.

The interim accounts were approved by the membership (21 in favour, 0 against, 2 abstentions).

5. Elections to the management committee:

Larry announced the withdrawal of Kitt Cowlishaw's nomination.

All candidates were unopposed and consequently, in accordance with our constitution and decisions of the management committee on procedure, the following were elected to the committee without need of a vote. *Chair* Kalen [Proposer: Debbie Finucane, Seconder: Kalen]

Secretary Yo [Proposer: Martijn Dekker, Seconder: Debbie Finucane]

Treasurer Debbie Finucane [Proposer: Larry Arnold, Seconder: Alexis]

General Committee Members (up to 6 places available) Trish Jubb [Proposer: Larry Arnold, Seconder: Debbie Finucane] Kabie (Kerry Brook) [Proposer: Dinah Murray, Seconder: Selina Postgate] Dave Gardner [Proposer: Dave Gardner, Seconder: Yo] Peter Benie [Proposer: Kalen, Seconder: Yo] Robin May [Proposer: Kalen, Seconder: Ruth Lavender] Martijn Dekker [Proposer: Yo, Seconder: Peter Benie]

6. A.O.B.

There was a brief discussion about a proposed group photo.

Robin presented Larry with a token of appreciation from the 2008-9 committee

Adrian Whyatt (member) spoke about whether events could be held in more accessible ways i.e. evenings/days, locally.

Adrian Whyatt (member) also spoke about improving governance and discussed rules about who should and should not stand for the committee

At this point Yo (vice secretary) requested a vote on a point of order that 'This meeting decides not to discuss these issues at this time'. The meeting approved this proposal (24 in favour, 3 against, 1 abstention).

Adrian Whyatt was advised by members of the committee that he could further discuss such issues by joining appropriate subcommittees or the plan list.

The chair closed the meeting.